With Picture-in-Picture, your patient stays in sight while taking EHR notes, sharing your screen, checking records, and more – balancing engagement and efficiency.
Available on all plans ⭐ Works on desktop only
How to turn on Picture-in-Picture
Automatic mode
On supported browsers, Picture-in-Picture opens automatically when you switch to another browser tab during a doxy.me call. This keeps your call visible in a small floating window while you reference information or use other browser-based tools.
When you return to the doxy.me call tab, the floating window closes and the full call view is restored automatically.
From the dedicated Picture-in-Picture button:
Start a call with one person or multiple participants
Click the square within a square button in the bottom right corner of the screen
Picture-in-Picture will open in a small movable window
Drag the window anywhere on your screen and resize as needed
From the Control Bar:
Start a call with one person or multiple participants
Click ⋮ More (the button with 3 dots) on your Control bar
Select Picture-in-Picture to open a small movable window
Drag the window anywhere on your screen and resize as needed
How automatic Picture-in-Picture works
On supported browsers, Picture-in-Picture opens automatically when you switch to another browser tab during a doxy.me call. This keeps your call visible in a small floating window while you reference information or use other browser-based tools.
The first time you use automatic Picture-in-Picture, your browser will ask for permission. Choose whether to always allow it for doxy.me or prevent it from opening automatically.
When you return to the doxy.me call tab, the floating window closes and the full call view is restored automatically.
Using Picture-in-Picture during a Group call
Note: Group call is available on paid plans
The participant who is speaking will automatically be displayed in the Picture-in-Picture window
You cannot select yourself
💡 Tip: Place the floating Picture-in-Picture window near your camera, typically located at the top center of your screen. This helps your patient feel as though you are looking directly at them and engaged.
Questions? Please contact our support team


